Law Office of Lori Crystal, LLC
What Should I Know About DUI in Colorado?
Drunk driving charges are serious legal matters and individuals who are charged with DUI and other alcohol-related driving crimes should know that their rights and privileges may be threatened by convictions. This post is offered as a general and informative overview of Colorado’s DUI laws. It is not a substitute for individual legal advice and consultation with a DUI attorney.
In Colorado, a driver may be stopped if they exhibit signs of intoxication and tested for alcohol in their body. A person is considered “per se” intoxicated if their blood alcohol concentration is at or above .08 percent. Per se intoxication means that the person is guilty of drunk driving even if there are no other signs or evidence of intoxication in their driving.
Teens and underage drinkers may be arrested for drunk driving if their blood alcohol concentrations meet or exceed .02 percent. That is because it is unlawful for individuals under 21 years of age to drink and Colorado has adopted a zero-tolerance law to apply to this population. Young people, and older drivers as well, can lose their driving privileges if they are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol.
Finally, Colorado drivers may face aggravated DUI charges if their blood alcohol concentrations meet or exceed .17 percent. This level is more than twice that of the per se intoxication level previously mentioned and comes with even tougher penalties. Before facing a serious DUI or other drunk driving charges, readers are invited to learn more about this important legal topic. Lawyers are a good source of information and support for those working through DUI cases.