Law Office of Lori Crystal, LLC
What Are Some Possible Penalties for Speeding in Colorado?
Many motorists in Colorado have sped from time to time. Sometimes they are simply in a hurry, or they may not be aware of just how fast they are driving. When they are pulled over by police for speeding, some Coloradans may be under the impression that they will be issued a speeding ticket and then will be on their way. However, depending on how fast they were driving, this might not always be the case.
If a motorist travels 25 mph or more above the reasonable and prudent speed or over 75 mph, this is a Class 2 misdemeanor. The penalties for violating this law include a fine between $150 to $300, and/or a jail sentence of 10 to 90 days.
The stakes are raised if a motorist is speeding in a construction zone. If a motorist travels 25 mph or more above the reasonable and prudent speed in a construction zone or travels 75 mph or more in a construction zone, this is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties for violating this law include a fine between $300 to $1,000 and/or a jail sentence of 10 days to one year.
In addition to fines, when a motorist commits a traffic infraction, a surcharge may be assessed. This, in combination with the potential penalty of jail time could seriously impact a person’s life should they be convicted of a Class 2 misdemeanor or a Class 1 misdemeanor for speeding. However, it is possible to contest a traffic ticket in court, if you believe it was wrongfully issued. Colorado attorneys can help those issued a speeding ticket understand their legal options, so they can make decisions that are in their best interests.