HOW ARE MISDEMEANOR TRAFFIC OFFENSES PENALIZED IN COLORADO?
Jan. 9, 2019
Being pulled over by the police can be embarrassing, but, more importantly, it can result in significant penalties. A person in Colorado can receive a traffic ticket for various reasons. Certain offenses, such as driving above the posted speed limit in a construction zone, operating a motor vehicle without automobile insurance and careless driving are considered misdemeanors and will be penalized accordingly.
There are two types of misdemeanor traffic offenses in Colorado: Class 1 offenses and Class 2 offenses. The minimum sentence for a Class 2 offense is 10 days in jail and a fine of $150, while the maximum sentence is 90 days in jail and a fine of $300.
Class 1 offenses are penalized more harshly than Class 2 offenses. The minimum sentence for a Class 1 offense is one year in jail and a fine of $300. The maximum sentence is one year in jail and a fine of $1,000. In addition to these penalties, if convicted, a person may have to pay restitution and be required to perform community service. There may be other penalties as well, depending on the offense.
As this shows, being convicted of a misdemeanor traffic offense can result in penalties that could negatively affect a person’s life for years to come. Having to serve jail time can cost a person their job and tarnish their reputation in their community, not to mention the hit they’ll take to their pocketbook. Therefore, those who have received a ticket for a misdemeanor traffic offense may want to contact an attorney who practices criminal defense law to help them understand the charges they face, so they can make informed decisions regarding their criminal defense options.