Driver’s License Suspension in Colorado
April 12, 2023
According to data from Colorado Crime Statistics, there were about 15,908 DUI-related arrests statewide in 2022. In Colorado, your driver's license may be suspended for violating a traffic law, driving without insurance, driving under the influence, or accumulating DMV point values. However, with your driver's license suspended, you may face different challenges in getting to work, school, or medical appointments, as well as lose out on various professional opportunities.
At the Law Office of Lori Crystal, LLC, we have the skill and resources to guide and represent clients in their license suspension cases. Our reliable Colorado criminal defense attorney can enlighten you about your rights and the risks of driving with a suspended license. Also, we will craft a solid strategy to fight the suspension, working diligently to get your license reinstated. Our firm proudly serves clients across Castle Rock, Kiowa, Parker, Franktown, Lone Tree, Castle Pines, Centennial, and Elizabeth, Colorado.
Reasons You Lose Your Driver's License
In the state of Colorado, your driver's license may be suspended for a different number of reasons, including criminal acts, getting too many points on your driving record, and more.
Getting convicted for a traffic-related or driving offense may lead to a driver's license suspension. These include:
motor vehicle theft
driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
Automatic Suspensions (Point Suspension)
Also, your driver's license may be automatically suspended by the Colorado DMV for accumulating demerit points on your driving record, depending on your age.
Young drivers (age 17 and below) cannot receive 6 points in 12 months or 7 points before turning 18.
Drivers between the age of 18 and 20 cannot receive 9 points in 12 months, 12 points in 24 months, or 14 points total before they turn 21.
Adults over the age of 21 cannot receive 12 or more points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months.
In addition, your driver's license may be suspended for discretionary reasons, including:
operating a motor vehicle improperly; and
being an immediate threat to public safety
Other Reasons for Suspension
Here are other things that might lead to a driver's license suspension:
a drug crime conviction
recurring medical or physical condition
failure to pay court fees and fines
making use of a fake ID
failure to appear on an outstanding arrest
non-compliance with a domestic support enforcement order
failure to register as a sex offender
If your license has been suspended, you should get in touch with a strategic criminal defense lawyer right away. Your attorney can investigate the surrounding details of your case, fully explain the penalties for driving on a suspended license in the state, and help build your defense.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
Driving on a suspended license can have hefty consequences. Fines can reach up to $500, and you could spend up to six months in jail. To avoid these penalties and other social consequences, you can apply for a hardship license while your driver's license remains suspended.
A hardship license can be described as a limited permit or restricted driver's license that allows a person with a suspended license to drive to certain places. With your hardship license, you can drive to the following places:
alcohol education school
To be issued a red license in Colorado, you must be eligible to get the hardship license, and the traffic court must approve your application.
Qualifying for a Hardship License
In order to qualify for a hardship license in Colorado, the following must be true:
Your license was suspended because of accumulating DMV point values or failing to pay child support obligations.
You are not a threat to public safety.
You will experience undue hardship without a driver's license.
A knowledgeable lawyer can determine your eligibility for a hardship license or explore the possibility of getting your driver's license reinstated.
Reinstate Your License
Follow the steps below to get your license reinstated in Colorado:
Fulfill the conditions that caused your license to be suspended.
Pay your legal fees and traffic fines.
Meet all your criminal conviction requirements.
Complete the application for reinstatement.
Provide proof of your certificate of financial responsibility.
Pay the reinstatement fee for your driver's license.
You will receive an email or notification once the DMV approves your reinstatement application.
Proceed to the Colorado DMV office with your email to pick up your driver's license.
A dependable Colorado license suspension attorney can help you submit the necessary documentation, guide you through the legal processes involved, and ultimately get your driver's license reinstated.
Get the Legal Support You Need
Losing your driving privileges in Colorado can affect your quality of life, create inconveniences, and even cost you major life opportunities. Therefore, if you want to challenge your license suspension or get your suspended license reinstated, retaining a highly-skilled criminal defense lawyer is crucial for detailed guidance and to help restore your driving privileges.
At the Law Office of Lori Crystal, LLC, we're dedicated to guiding clients through the complexities involved in suspended license reinstatements. As your legal counsel, we can review the facts of your case carefully and strategize a solid defense for your unique situation. Also, we will fight vigorously to protect your driving privileges, help you apply for a hardship license, or reinstate your driver's license.
To work towards getting your license back, contact us at the Law Office of Lori Crystal, LLC, today to schedule a meeting. Our attorney can offer you the skilled legal guidance and reliable representation you need in your case. We're proud to serve clients throughout Castle Rock, Kiowa, Parker, Franktown, Lone Tree, Castle Pines, Centennial, and Elizabeth, Colorado, so if you’re in the area, reach out today.